Falling hard

To be honest, I have no idea how to start this post. Its been quite a while and I guess I’ve just been trying to find the right words this whole time.

About a month ago, I had a bit of an accident. I fell and fractured my pelvis and have a ruptured hematoma in my hip joint. Its been quite a while since a had a “good” injury like this and I had forgotten all the emotions that come with it. I forgot all about the terror when it happens and the wave of pain. The boredom of sitting in the ER. The exhaustion from something so eventful. And the disappointment that follows you around for weeks as you heal.

I still get sore if I walk around too much. I still have big ugly bruises all over the place. I’ve been out of the gym for a month now. After being on such a good gym streak and really pushing myself to be better, it is truly disheartening to think about all the progress that I had made that has now been lost. I’m eager and yet terrified to get back to the gym. I’m scared to see how much muscle I’ve lost, I’m excited to start gaining it back. I still have a few more weeks of healing to do before I see the gym again, and I’m not looking forward to the wait.

I’m trying to look on the bright-side and how this has given me more time with my family this holiday season and how I’ve gained a bigger appreciation of the people I have around me that helped me through this. I’ll always keep trying to find the good in any situation and I hope you do too.

Leave a comment