Is Publicity Always Good?

Theres a saying that states that any publicity is good publicity, but I’m not so convinced. Are stories in the news about a bad event really helpful to the reputation of a company? To me, I don’t think so. I think that if bad events happen to a company or if a bad news story leaks, this is not just publicity; this can be an incredibly damaging even for all involved.

For example, I heard today about an incident at Grand Valley State University where an April fools prank went terribly wrong and ended up starting a fire. So of course I had to look it up. Heres and article I found on it, thankfully everyone was okay! The person I was talking to also mentioned the fact that we haven’t really had this type of coverage in the news since the wrecking ball incident…

I can’t help but think that the administrators at Grand Valley are really wishing they got publicity for the awesome new science building they’re constructing rather than naked kids swinging on a ball or a fire that was started as a prank. I think that these events are actually incredibly damaging to the reputation of Grand Valley whether we want to admit it or not. Just as the students at Michigan State University flipping a car was not good for the PR officials there.

I cannot believe that all press is good press. There are stories that a company, or in this case a University, would rather keep to themselves or exchange for a different more academic story and because of that I think it proves my point that there is bad media coverage or publicity.

 

Video from- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVyDswF_-EE

Leave a Reply

